Jon Fosse

The 2023 Nobel Prize in Literature is awarded
Jon Fosse
for his innovative plays and prose which give voice to the unsayable

The Academy strives to promote Swedish as a rich, living language that is available for all to use and develop together.
This is the Swedish Academy

The Swedish Academy is a versatile institution.

The Academy is a versatile institution that both safeguards our language heritage and highlights modern developments. Our work includes providing tools and resources and conferring awards with the aim of promoting Swedish language and literature.

The Nobel Prize

Annie Ernaux

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2022 is awarded to the French author Annie Ernaux "for the courage and clinical acuity with which she uncovers the roots, estrangements and collective restraints of personal memory".