Rules for nominations


Authorised to nominate for the Nobel Prize in Literature are:

1) Members of the Swedish Academy and of other academies, institutions and societies with equivalent functions around the world.
2) Professors of literature and language subjects at universities and colleges.
3) Previous Nobel Prize laureates.
4) Chairpersons of writers’ organisations qualifying as representative of their countries’ production of literature and belles lettres.

Making the nomination public is not allowed, nor is nominating oneself. The list of nominations remain confidential for fifty years.

Nominations are to be sent by regular mail (not e-mail) to:

The Swedish Academy’s Nobel Committee
The Swedish Academy
P.O. Box 2118
SE-103 13 Stockholm  

Only envelopes are accepted, parcels will not be opened.